Pharma Trend: survey of innovation and sustainability in pharmaceutical companies

Pharma Trend

Pharma Trend, the survey to measure innovativeness and sustainability in the pharmaceuticals sector, has been conducted annually since 2000. The data for the representative benchmark analysis are collected online. On the basis of these data, we determine the winners of the awards ‘The Golden Tablet®’ and ‘Most Innovative Product®’, as well as the Pharma Trend ranking of the most reputable pharma companies. The winners of the awards and the ranking are announced each year during the Pharma Trend Image & Innovation Award ceremony.

Conditions of participation

A company that orders the report ´Pharma Trend Standard´ in a specialist group or indication will be listed in the benchmark and becomes a potential winner of the awards ‘The Golden Tablet®’ and ‘The Most Innovative Product®’. With its order, a company can additionally nominate three other companies for inclusion in the benchmark. The decision on the collection of the Pharma Trend is made after ordering the market research for the respective section and is limited across all categories to 10 subject groups per year. The number of orders for a specialist group determines the implementation of the survey. The right to carry out further specialist groups / indications is reserved by Eurecon Verlag.

The Pharma Trend Rx report for Germany may be bought in either of two versions: the ‘Basic’ edition covers all specialist disciplines and does not have benchmarking, while the ‘Standard’ edition does have benchmarking and refers to specific specialist fields. Buyers of the Standard edition will also receive the Basic edition. The Basic edition contains general information about the winners of ‘The Golden Tablet’ and ‘Most Innovative Product’ awards along with the reasons for their success, as well as an assessment of the companies’ image and sales force. Much of this information is also presented for the previous year for comparison. The Basic report also features the ‘Pharma Trend® Germany Best Pharmaceutical Companies’ ranking. The standard edition additionally provides discipline-specific and benchmark data.

The Pharma Trend survey is conducted in Germany if at least five clients have ordered the market research for the respective specialist group, with a maximum of 10 specialist groups per year across all categories. The number of requests for each discipline decides if the research will be undertaken. The European study is carried out if at least three orders are received.

Pharma Trend Rx

For the Pharma Trend Rx survey, 100 physicians are asked for their opinion in each specialty. In our experience, this sample size is fully sufficient for representative statements as the results tend to stabilize after about 80 respondents. Pharma Trend Rx is a quantitative survey that is conducted in up to 10 specialist disciplines – exclusively online since 2014. The survey is conducted if, in each specialty, a sufficient number of orders for the research have been received. The questions about the most reputable company and the most innovative product are posed in a completely open fashion. The responses are spontaneous and unsupported.

Pharma Trend OTC

The annual Pharma Trend benchmark analysis will be carried out in the OTC category if ordered for a specific indication. The survey is limited to a maximum of 35 indications. 100 pharmacists and 600 patients are sampled for each indication.

Pharma Trend Orphan Drugs / Specialty Care

The Pharma Trend survey will be conducted in the Orphan Drugs / Specialty Care categories if a report is ordered for an indication. 100 clinicians will be surveyed per indication.

Pharma Trend Europa Big5

In 2003, the Pharma Trend survey was conducted for the first time in the Big5 category, by telephone. Already in 2004, the survey was extended to Europe and conducted online. The next survey for the Pharma Trend Europa Big5 is scheduled to comprise Germany, the UK, France, Spain and Italy. 100 physicians are surveyed per specialty and country.

Pharma Trend Startups

The startups category is open to applications from biotech and medical technology companies, manufacturers of digital health applications, and established pharmaceutical companies with products in the approval process (EMA, positive CHMP recommendation).

Pharma Trend: Erhebung von Innovation und Nachhaltigkeit in der Pharmaindustrie

Pharma Trend

Der Pharma Trend ist die Erhebung zur Messung von Innovation und Nachhaltigkeit in Pharma und wird seit 2000 einmal jährlich durchgeführt. Die Erhebung der repräsentativen Benchmark-Studie erfolgt online. Auf Basis der Daten werden die Gewinner der Awards “Die Goldene Tablette“ und „Das innovativste Produkt“ ermittelt. Darüber hinaus bilden die Daten der Benchmark-Studie die Basis für die Entwicklung des Pharma Trend Ranking „Beste Pharma-Unternehmen“. Die Bekanntgabe der Award-Gewinner und des Rankings erfolgt einmal jährlich im Rahmen des Pharma Trend Image & Innovation Award.

Teilnahmebedingungen

Mit Bestellung des Pharma Trend Standard in einer Facharztgruppe/Indikation wird das bestellende Unternehmen im Benchmark aufgenommen. Zudem werden die Gewinner der Awards „Die Goldene Tablette®“ und “Das innovativste Produkt®“ ermittelt. Das bestellende Unternehmen kann für das Benchmark noch drei weitere Unternehmen benennen. Die Entscheidung über die Erhebung des Pharma Trend erfolgt nach Bestellung der Marktforschung für die jeweilige Fachgruppe und ist über alle Kategorien auf 10 Fachgruppen pro Jahr begrenzt. Die Anzahl der Bestellungen für eine Fachgruppe entscheidet über die Durchführung der Erhebung. Das Recht zur Durchführung weiterer Facharztgruppen/Indikationen behält sich der Eurecon Verlag vor.

Der Pharma Trend kann in Deutschland fach- / indikationsübergreifend ohne Benchmark (Basis) oder fach- / indikationspezifisch mit Benchmark (Standard) bezogen werden. Der Bezug des facharztspezifischen Berichtsbandes beinhaltet den facharztübergreifenden Berichtsband. In der Basis-Version enthält der Berichtsband kategoriespezifisch aufbereitet die Informationen zu den Gewinnern der Awards „Die Goldene Tablette®“ und „Das innovativste Produkt®“ mit Gründen zur Auszeichnung, die Daten zur „Sauren Zitrone“ sowie die Beurteilung des Image und des Außendienstes, davon etliche Daten im Vorjahresvergleich und das Ranking „Pharma Trend® Beste Pharma-Unternehmen“. Der Berichtsband (Standard) enthält facharzt- bzw. indikations-spezifisch aufbereitet die Ergebnisse für die bestellte Facharztgruppe bzw. Indikation inkl. der Daten zum Benchmark.

Die Erhebung findet in Deutschland statt, wenn mindestens 5 Pharmaunternehmen den Pharma Trend beauftragen. Die Anzahl der Bestellungen für eine Facharztgruppe resp. Indikation bestimmt über deren Erhebung. Voraussetzung für die Durchführung der europäischen Studie sind mindestens drei Bestellungen von Pharmaunternehmen.

Pharma Trend Rx

Für die Meinungsumfrage Pharma Trend Rx werden pro Facharztgruppe 100 Ärzte um ihre Meinung gebeten. Diese Stichprobe reicht erfahrungsgemäß für repräsentative Aussagen, da sich die Ergebnisse bereits ab circa 80 Befragten stabilisieren. Es handelt sich beim Pharma Trend Rx um eine quantitative Erhebung, die fachgruppenspezifisch angelegt ist und seit 2014 ausschließlich online durchgeführt wird. Die Erhebung des Pharma Trend Rx erfolgt nach Bestellung der Marktforschung für die jeweilige Facharztgruppe und ist auf 10 Facharztgruppen pro Jahr begrenzt. Die Anzahl der Bestellungen für eine Facharztgruppe entscheidet über die Durchführung der Erhebung. Die Frage nach dem besten Unternehmen und dem innovativsten Produkt wird in einer offenen Frage – ohne jegliche Vorgaben – gestellt. Die Antworten sind spontan und ungestützt.

Pharma Trend OTC

Die Durchführung der für 2018 geplanten Benchmark-Studie Pharma Trend OTC erfolgt für beauftragte Indikationen. Die Anzahl der zu erhebenden Indikationen ist auf 35 begrenzt. Pro Indikation werden 100 Apotheker und 600 Patienten befragt.

Pharma Trend Orphan Drugs/Specialty Care

Die Erhebung des Pharma Trend in den Kategorien Orphan Drugs / Specialty Care setzt die Bestellung des Berichtsbandes für eine Indikation dieser Kategorie voraus. Pro Indikation werden 100 Klinikärzte befragt.

Pharma Trend Europa Big5

2003 wurde der Pharma Trend erstmalig in Big5 für eine Facharztgruppe telefonisch erhoben. Ein Jahr später erfolgte die europaweite Befragung erstmals online. Die 3. Erhebung des Pharma Trend Europa Big 5 ist für die Länder Deutschland, UK, Frankreich, Spanien und Italien vorgesehen. Die Erhebung erfolgt in den für die Pharmaunternehmen wichtigsten Facharztgruppen, die über die Bestellung durch die Pharmaunternehmen festgelegt werden. Pro Facharztgruppe und Land werden 100 Ärzte befragt.

Pharma Trend Startups

In der Kategorie Startups können sich Unternehmen bewerben aus den Bereichen Biotechnologie, Medizintechnik, und Hersteller von Anwendungen digitaler Gesundheit, sowie etablierte Pharmaunternehmen mit im Zulassungsverfahren (EMA, positive CHMP-Empfehlung) befindlichen Produkten.